Showing posts with label Rebel Vampires. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rebel Vampires. Show all posts

Monday, September 4, 2017

Review: Blood Renegades

Blood Renegades by Rosemary A. Johns
Rebel Vampires Book 3
Published June 13, 2017 by Fantasy Rebel Limited
Reviewed by Rose
4 Fangs!

Synopsis:

Light – rebel, lover, anti-hero – will be burnt at the stake in fourteen days. When he’s accused of being a terrorist Renegade in paranormal London, his bewitching Blood Life Council interrogator offers a deal: one secret a night.

Facing both human and vampire enemies, secret alliances and betrayal, Light struggles with whether he’s a hero, or about to fall back into his true vampire nature. Soon, Light’s in a race against time to transform into the leader vital to save his family, home, and love. But will he be able to judge predator from prey?

Light must make the ultimate choice: safety and slavery in the shadows, or freedom and death in the light…

Blood Renegades is the thrilling third installment of the supernatural suspense series REBEL VAMPIRES written by award-winning author Rosemary A Johns. (Goodreads)


Review:

This is the third book in the series. I would recommend reading the first two books before reading this one. This third installment is by far my favorite of the series. It flowed a bit smoother, and I think by now the slang that's peppered throughout is not bothersome. I would have loved a glossary in all the books in the series. The British slang is just not something everyone will know, I think it would make for a more enjoyable read for readers from other countries. This format is in a journal format but with more dialogue. More dialogue to me is much better. It is just reads more smoothly to me. 

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Review: Blood Shackles

Blood Shackles by Rosemary A Johns
Rebel Vampires Book 2
Published October 18, 2016 by Fantasy Rebel Limited
Reviewed by Rose
3 Fangs

Synopsis: 


Would you sacrifice your freedom to save your family? When vampires are slaves, and humans are acting like monsters, it's a dangerous game to love your Mistress. 

In a divided paranormal London, Light is the bad boy vampire of the Blood Lifer world, but then for the first time he becomes the hunted, not the hunter. When he’s bought by his Mistress, Light fights to escape. If he doesn’t, he’ll never solve the conspiracy behind the Blood Club.

London, Primrose Hill. Grayse is the slaver’s daughter. She buys Light, like he’s a pair of designer shoes. So why does Light feel so drawn to her? Especially when his family is still in chains. Will he risk everything – even his new love – to save them?

A stunning revelation leads Light to the dark heart of the Blood Club. If he can face his worst terrors, he can save his family and whole species from slavery.

Maybe he can even save himself. (Goodreads)


Review:


This is the second book in the rebel vampire series. I did enjoy it a touch more than the first, although I still do not prefer the journalist format. It made it hard for me to truly get into the story, as I tended to lose interest. While this installment does have more action and a smidgen more dialogue, it was very much Shadows journal to his master’s daughter. 


The time setting is after the loss from book one, and Light is captured. Renamed Shadow as a slap in the face, due to his name being Light. I really didn't think I would like Grayce much, but I think she grew on me. Still not overly excited about slavery, it is a bit odd to me how one can form such a connection to the one holding him captive, it's too much like Stockholm Syndrome Romance for my tastes. I think that may be on me, not being a fan of such books. 

The ending was wrapped up nicely, and I think Sun will make Light a nice companion. There is the same amount of colloquialisms peppered throughout this book, but it was expected. I am curious to what Light and his new family will be up to next. Ms. Johns does have a unique way to tell a story, with plenty of fresh twists. 

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

Review: Blood Shackles


Blood Shackles by Rosemary A Johns
Rebel Vampires Book 2
Published November 1, 2016 by Fantasy Rebel Limited

Synopsis:


Would you sacrifice your freedom to save your family? 

When vampires are the slaves and humans are the monsters, it's a dangerous game to love your Mistress. In a divided paranormal London, Light is the bad boy vampire of the Blood Lifer world, with a talent for remembering things. And a Triton motorbike. Since Victorian times he’s been forced to hide in the shadows. But not now. Not since someone hunted him down. When he’s bought by his Mistress, Light fights to escape. If he doesn’t, he’ll never solve the conspiracy behind the Blood Club.



WELCOME TO THE BLOOD CLUB

Who are these ruthless humans? And who betrayed the secret of the Blood Lifer world?



WHERE THE PREDATORS



London, Primrose Hill. Grayse is the slaver’s daughter. She buys Light, like he’s a pair of designer shoes. So why does Light feel so drawn to her? Especially when his family is still in chains. Will he risk everything – even his new love – to save them?



BECOME THE PREY



Does a chilling conspiracy lie behind it all? A stunning revelation leads Light to an inconceivable truth. To the dark heart of the Blood Club. If he can face his worst terrors, he can save his family and whole species from slavery.



Maybe he can even save himself.



Blood Shackles is the compelling second instalment in the bestselling fantasy series Rebel Vampires from the critically acclaimed author Rosemary A Johns. Experience a thrilling new suspense with vampires, Rockers and dark romance.


For fans of Night Huntress, Immortals After Dark, Anita Blake, Fever and Blood Dagger Brotherhood take a deep breath and dive into the spellbinding secret world of Blood Life. (Goodreads)


Review:

Still grieving over the lost of his Moon Girl, Light finds himself in an even more horrible predicament than ever before. 

Torture, suffering, deprivation, starvation, and extreme thirst are only a few of the things that Light must endure during his captivity. What's worst, is that it is only the beginning. Light and other's of his kind have been betrayed, captured and sold into slavery. Some being trained as sex slaves, others as workers, neither with free will. 

When Light is bought and sold he may have actually found his salvation. In the hands of the daughter of the man running the entire shindig. But will she truly betray her family to set him free? And even if she does, will he leave his family behind to live a life as a free man in love without chains?

Keep a box of Kleenex on standby while reading this heartrending installment of Rebel Vampires. There is nothing light about the story that is told. Johns paints such a vivid picture the reader will want to step into the pages, ready to run to the rescue but not knowing who they want to save first. 

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Cover Reveal: Blood Renegades


Blood Renegades

Rebel Vampires, Volume Three

by Rosemary A Johns

Cover Reveal

Standalone Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Fantasy Rebel Limited Date of Publication: 13th June 2017
Blood Renegades Cover
 Cover Artist: JD Smith


Buy Link: 

http://viewbook.at/BloodRenegades 

Book Description:

Light lives for his vampire family. Now he may die for it. ESCAPE INTO AWARD WINNING URBAN FANTASY… Light – rebel, lover, anti-hero – will be burnt at the stake in fourteen days. In a hidden, paranormal London, he’s been branded a traitor and terrorist Renegade – a Blood Lifer hunter of human slavers. Liberty is a relentless interrogator. She’s been trained to hate Renegades. Yet when her life converges with Light’s, she’s enticed by the dark and glory of his world. Light is catapulted into a nightmare of secret research, deadly enemies and perilous intrigue. Soon he’s in a race against time to transform into the true leader vital to save his family, home and love. But will he be able to judge predator from prey? Light must make the ultimate choice: to hide in the shadows. Or walk into the light… Betrayal. Death. Hope. Isn’t that how all truly great stories start? "Rosemary A Johns is one of fantasy's greats. She'll put you in mind of Anne Rice and leave you wanting more"- Gothic Mom's Reviews “Take what you know about vampire romance and throw it away. Rosemary A Johns is not only a refreshing new voice in this genre, she excels it. Her vampires are edgy, titillating and enticing” – Rockchick Addiction Reviews

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Rosmary A Johns Urban Portraits

WINNER OF SILVER AWARD in the National Wishing Shelf Book Awards. ROSEMARY A JOHNS is the author of the bestselling Blood Dragons and Blood Shackles - the compelling Rebel Vampires series. Blood Renegades is the thrilling third installment. ROSEMARY A JOHNS is a music fanatic and a paranormal anti-hero addict who creates spellbinding worlds, thrilling action, gripping suspense and passionate romances, all uniquely told. She wrote her first fantasy novel at the age of ten, when she discovered the weird worlds inside her head were more exciting than double swimming. Since then she’s studied history at Oxford University, run a theatre company (her critically acclaimed plays have been described as "uncomfortable, unsettling and uneasily true to life"), and worked with disability charities. When Rosemary’s not falling in love with the rebels fighting their way onto the page, she heads the Oxford writing group Dreaming Spires.

Rosemary is a Goodreads Author: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15571684.Rosemary_A_Johns
To sign up to Rosemary A Johns’ VIP Email Newsletter with news of hot releases, promotions and the free short story “All the Tin Soldiers”, click here: http://eepurl.com/bQ0kMX


Contact Rosemary A. Johns:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GothicMoms Updates