Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts

Saturday, July 15, 2017

A Few Good Review(er)s

A Few Good Review(er)s
I didn’t start off in the book world writing, I started off reviewing. I didn’t think I had it in me to write and complete an entire novel, now I’m almost finished writing my second full novel, and starting on my third novella. But, writing takes time, and takes time away from my pride and joy that brought into contact with a lot of fangtastic authors.
I don’t want to keep letting the Gothic Mom's blog go downhill, but, I can’t keep doing it on my own either. I need more reviewers! If you have a passion for books with a dark touch I’d love to have you join my team, and feel free to bring a friend or two with you. There is no age requirement or restriction, there’s also no pay. But, you will have access to some great books! I only ask that whatever books requested from the list you leave a review within three weeks of receiving it. And feel free to leave a review on a book you’re already reading.
You do NOT have to write a perfect review, just one that shows how you truly feel about what you’ve read. Oh! There will be quarterly prizes for the most active reviewers. And any contest(s) posted on the blog everyone is free to enter.

And introducing my first new accomplice, Crystal Blood! Mrs. Blood is also one of my Demented Diva's!

I hope to be adding more names soon...

Monday, February 27, 2017

Blood Dragons Review


Blood Dragons by Rosemary A. Johns
Rebel Vampires Book 1
Self-Published August 3, 2016
5 Bloody Fangs!

"Sometimes we're doomed to repeat our past mistakes, even in death..."

Synopsis

Escape into a supernatural world of love, revenge and redemption, where vampires are both predator and prey.

TRUE BLOOD MEETS NEVERWHERE

1960s London. Kathy is a seductive singer. But she’s also human. Light knows his passion for her is reckless but he’s enchanted. Yet such a romance is forbidden. When the two worlds collide, it could mean the end. For both species.

When Light discovers his ruthless family’s horrifying experiments, he questions whether he should be slaying or saving the humans he’s always feared. What dark revelations will Light reveal at the heart of the experiments? Will he be able to stop them in time? The consequences of failure are unimaginable. Unless Light plays the part of hero, he risks losing everything. Including the two women he loves.

A rebel, a red-haired devil and a Moon Girl battle to save the world – or tear it apart.

Blood Dragons is the explosive first installment of the new fantasy series Rebel Vampires from the critically acclaimed author Rosemary A Johns. Experience a thrilling new twist on urban fantasy with vampires, Rockers and dark romance. (Goodreads)


Review:

When I initially read the synopsis for this title I thought there would be a lot of fang baring, blood slinging, and a bunch of vampire sex. Yes, we all know my mind works differently than most. But, that is not what this book is, though it is still a great read. Think Interview With a Vampire meets Confessions of a Lost Soul. Yes, Rosemary A. Johns does bring to mind the writing style of the great Anne Rice.

In Blood Dragons the vampires are referred to as Blood Lifers, and humans as First Lifers. Light as a first lifer had a photographic memory, which for those of you who have such know can be both a blessing and a curse. In this tale he is actually recalling the life that he lived as a blood lifer, and that of his first life, confessing all to the human woman that he loves. And no, not just confessions of sleeping with other women; confessions of blood lust, temptation, of mad scientists doing experiments on behalf of his blood family, of loving a woman who had a twisted version of what love is, confessions of love, betrayal, and doomed friendship. Each event causing him almost as much pain as he tells it, as it did when he lived it.  And as he watches her while he does so, there is only one word she utter's, Advance. The night club that not only brought them together, but the one that almost claimed their very lives.

Light is torn between two worlds, that of the living and that of the blood, the woman he loves, and the woman who truly loves him. And while all stories can't end with a happy ever after, it's good to know some end with a man who keeps his word.

Looking for a paranormal read that takes you into mind of the vampire that's filled with more than just blood and lust, look no further. Rosemary A. Johns creates a world so real it makes you wonder...


Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Forever Charmed Review

Forever Charmed (ARC Review)
Vieux Carre Witch Sisters' Book 3
Published by Entangled November 7, 2016
4.5 Spellbound Stars

"Love can make you do things you would never imagine you were capable of."



Blurb:

Rose Morgeaux is a healer, not a killer, so training to fight is the last thing she wants to do. And if going against everything she believes in isn’t bad enough, she has to do it with the eyes of the dark and handsome Callahan McCray on her back.

Cal’s seen the work of Warlocks firsthand when one killed his brother a year ago, so Rose’s hybrid heritage is all the reason he needs to stay away. Teaching her to throw a knife was not on his agenda, but neither was falling for her.

When Rose begins to pay a heavy price for her passions, Cal’s love must be enough to save her from herself and keep her from following in her grandfather’s dark footsteps. (Goodreads)




Review: 

The Morgeaux sisters have been struggling to deal with the fact that not only are they witches but also part Warlock as well. As if that wasn't enough, they also are being forced to train to learn to fight with the Paladins, a sect of humans whom made a pact to protect Witches. For Rose that task is even harder when her calling is healing, not harming. But as the next in line to protect the spells hidden within the painting learning how to fight isn't an option. The question is, will she be able to protect it from her mother who is determined to save her own father that is also trapped within the painting.

Rose is paired up with a very reluctant trainer, Callahan, who has his own demons he's battling, the one's within. Feeling as though being forced to train the hybrid's is a torture all its own with the deep seeded hatred he holds for Warlocks, he's slowly coming to realize that some torture may indeed be sweet. Fighting an attraction that may have started off from sheer lust swiftly becomes a losing battle for both of them. 

Readers will fall in love with the Morgeaux sisters all over again in Forever Charmed, rooting for them to find love and happiness among the chaos that has become their life. Watching them not only grow as witches and women, but learning to live with the other part of themselves, their Warlock side. And just as with Brye in His Wicked Desire, we've seen that side is mjuch closer to the surface than they ever knew, the same may be said for Rose, maybe even more-so.

Chartier is a true storyteller with the rare ability to pull readers in and allow them to truly visualize the story as if it were taking place right before their very eyes. For readers looking for a romance that's by far more than just that; one with magic, excitement, laughter, and unpredictability, this is the perfect read. While Forever Charmed may be read and enjoyed as a standalone I highly recommend reading books one and two first, otherwise you'd be doing yourself a disservice.

Monday, September 8, 2014

Hand of Miriam Review

Hand of Miriam by Eva Gordon (ARC Review)
Self-Published December 6, 2013
A Bayla and the Golem Novel Book 1
4.5 Steaming Stars

"Goggles, Dirigibles and Vampires oh my! Eva Gordon creates a vivid world that Steampunk Lovers are sure to enjoy."

Synopsis -

On an archaeological expedition, Bayla Gideon, is widowed by a supernatural force and branded with the Hand of Miriam or Knowing Eye. Threatened by evil, she awakens the golem; a mythical man of clay, who protected the Jewish community over three centuries ago.

The golem, Gesher, is surprised. Freedom –by a beautiful, enchanting woman. His desire is to return to the celestial spheres and regain his status as an avenging angel. Yet, Bayla challenges his mind, body and soul. Would he risk his return to the heavens for her?

Besides, dealing with the otherkind, mad inventors and an unrelenting matchmaking aunt, Bayla is equally determined to resist her steamy attraction to the striking fallen angel.

Thrust into a malevolent war, which includes facing Jack the Ripper, they must resist the magnetic pull toward each other, while protecting the world from encroaching evil. (Goodreads)


Review -

Walk into the world of Victorian London where ships sail through the sky and goggles, corsets and stop watches are part of the everyday attire. Gordon truly knows her steam and the legends behind the creatures that go bump in the night. Though this novel is a rather lengthy one, each page is well worth the read. Hand of Miriam is a tale full of magic, mayhem, love, loyalty, betrayal and plenty of blood thirsty fiends.

This review is to be published on BTSeMag. The link will be posted here at a later date.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GothicMoms Updates