Showing posts with label ARC Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ARC Review. Show all posts

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Review: Intensity

Intensity by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Chronicles of Nick Book 8
Published September 5, 2017 by St. Martin's Griffin
Reviewed by Sarah
4 Bloody Fangs

Synopsis:

It’s a demon-eat-demon world for Nick Gautier. Just when he thinks he’s finally gotten a handle on how not to take over the world and destroy it, Death returns with an all-star cast that is determined to end the Malachai reign and lineage forever. Worse? Death and War have found the one, true enemy Nick can’t find, and even if he did, it’s one he could never bring himself to banish or kill.

Now framed for murders he hasn’t committed, and surrounded by new friends who might be turncoats, Nick is learning fast how his father went down in flames.

The heat in New Orleans is rising fast, and Nick’s threat-level has gone into a whole new level of intensity. He’s learning fast that when War and Death decide to battle, they don’t take prisoners. The don’t negotiate. And they’re both immune to his biting sarcasm and Cajun charm. To win this, he will have to embrace a new set of powers, but one wrong step, and he will belong to the side of Darkness, forever.
  (Goodreads)


Review:

I'm a huge fan of Sherrilyn and I absolutely adore Nick but this book for some reason couldn't keep my attention long. It wasn't for lack of good story or writing which was as usual for Sherrilyn top notch but more of a it just felt drawn out for some reason. There were certain parts that felt as if it could have been written in a different manner or shortened in length but over all it was a good read. Will I continue this series? Maybe not- it might just be that my tastes are starting to change but it wasn't due to her lack of material, imagination, or writing methods but more of a it feels weird to still be reading teen/ young adult books now that my own kids are old enough to start reading these.

Reviewed by Sarah of the GothicMoms Review Team

Friday, September 15, 2017

Spotlight & Review: Unorthodox




Unorthodox
A Kendra Spark Novel
Book One
S. Peters-Davis

Genre: Paranormal Suspense-Thriller Romance
with a good dollop of Supernatural

Publisher: Books We Love Publishing

Date of Publication: September 15, 2017

ISBN 978-1-77362-303-0
ISBN 978-1-77362-304-7
EPUB 978-1-77362-300-9
Kindle 978-1-77362-301-6
WEB 978-1-77362-302-3

Number of pages: 153 pages
Word Count: 63,000

Cover Artist: CoverUp.Net

Book Tagline:  Kendra’s ability of communicating with the dead is requested by her FBI criminal analyst friend to stop a killer from murdering agents.

Series Tagline: Kendra sees ghosts, and then her BFF, Jenna, becomes one. The two friends and FBI agent Derek Knight fight for justice to the victims of heinous crimes.

Book Description:

Kendra Spark, suspense-mystery romance author and communicator with the dead, is requested to hop on the first flight to D.C.

Jenna Powers, FBI criminal analyst and estranged best friend of Kendra, gets ghosticized in a fatal accident before relaying all the details of the FBI killer case.

Derek Knight, a dedicated FBI Special Task Force agent, takes lead on the case.

The investigation into the FBI agent killings continues as Kendra, Jenna – yes, even after death – and Derek work together on the case before Director of the Special Task Force Jackson Powers’ number is up. He’s Jenna’s father and the end-game of the killer’s target list.

Somehow the elusive killer remains undetected, until Kendra’s unique ability produces results and a final possibility at stopping his killing spree before it’s too late.


5 Chilling Stars

This book was really good. The touch of spook factor along with the suspense, mystery and paranormal (which is always fun) all blended together making the perfect combination.

I loved the chemistry the trio of main characters had together. The way they worked together to figure things out was phenomenal. And Derek was the perfect piece of visual eye candy. I really enjoyed how well written these characters were, whether their roles were big or small. The writing was superb and I loved how everything flowed together, creating a vivid picture in the minds eye. 

Everyone had to figure out who and what they were and needed to be and everyone had to come together to figure out everything else. It was definitely an amazing read.

Reviewed by Kaila


Excerpt:

From the Author Review Copy: The scene – Derek has Kendra in a casual interrogation room inside the FBI building – D.C. location

The door opened and Jackson Powers entered before I could respond.
He glanced around the room stopping when he saw me; his red rimmed eyes spoke volumes. I clearly remembered his presence, a straightforward man, full of confidence and direction, but in this moment he appeared like a man broken. I rose and reached for a hand shake. Instead, he grabbed my hand and pulled me into a big bear hug.
“I’m so very sorry about Jenna. Sorry for your loss, for my loss…” Muscles tensed around my vocals and cut off the words.
Tears spilled from both of us. Derek stepped out of the room, clicking the door closed.
“Jenna told me she was meeting with you today, going to show you the city sights.” Jackson held me for a few more minutes, patting my back and telling me it wasn’t my fault.
The thought of the accident initially being my fault had never entered my mind. Why would that thought cross his? I stepped back. Obviously he hadn’t received the latest details of the accident, but even so why would he consider that I’d feel responsible. Even if I questioned that maybe I could have done something to stop her in some way, she did save that boy. “Not sure what you mean…in thinking it could be my fault?”
His eyes widened, maybe a little startled at my blatant question. “I assumed Jenna ran after a little culprit that grabbed your purse or something much worse. She must have gotten caught up in the chase to run in front of on-coming traffic.” His face softened. “Kendra, I know Jenna, there was nothing you could have done to stop her. She’s always been head-strong…was always
head-strong,” he corrected himself, then his voice cracked, and suddenly something occurred to me.
Jackson isn’t privy to Jenna and Derek’s manhunt for the FBI killer, nor the reason I’m here. Of course. Jenna had tagged along to certain crime scenes while she was still in college, but from all that I remembered, Jackson wanted her profiling cases strictly inside the building. She had access to all the crime scenes from pictures and files on her laptop. At least she always used to complain about his restrictions, and I couldn’t imagine he would allow her in the field on a serial killer task force, unless things had changed in the last couple years.
There’d been a few close calls on other cases, some of the agent’s family members being abducted or being used for negotiation, leverage. While in college, Jenna told me all the rules her father had enforced if she were to join in any of the FBI cases. He protected her, and now she had returned the favor…to her demise.
Jenna and Derek were hunting the serial killer behind Jackson’s back.
There was a tap on the door and Derek stepped in. His brows were drawn close, eyes narrowed, perhaps his expression of concern. “Sir, I thought Kendra might be hungry. She hasn’t eaten all day.” He smiled at me, and then looked back at Jackson. “I’m headed out for a late lunch and thought I’d take her with me.”
Jackson’s lips pressed together. He finally lifted his chin toward me. “Well, of course. We certainly wouldn’t want anyone going hungry now, would we,” more of a statement than a question. He patted my shoulder. “Go on, Kendra. We can continue our talk later. I’d like to hear exactly what happened to my daughter from someone who was there to witness it.”
Derek grasped my elbow and led me toward the door.
Instead of following, Jackson released a long breathy sigh and sat on the couch. “Shut the door behind you, Derek. And tell Darla I don’t wish to be disturbed.”

My heart swelled huge behind my ribcage, again the confining weight pressing in on my ability to breathe. I couldn’t imagine the emotional maelstrom Jackson was going through. I knew only my own turbulent ride. Now I needed to get some facts straight; it was my turn to interrogate Derek.



About the Author:

S. Peters-Davis writes multi-genre stories, but loves penning a good page-turning suspense-thriller, especially when it’s a ghost story and a romance. When she’s not writing, editing, or reading, she’s hiking, RV’ing, fishing, playing with grandchildren, or enjoying time with her favorite muse (her husband) in Southwest Michigan.

She also writes YA paranormal, supernatural novels as DK Davis.


Twitter – https://twitter.com/spdavis788   


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, September 11, 2017

Spotlight & Review: Guardian Unforgiven





Guardian Unforgiven
Book One
Nollen Bradley

Genre: Werewolf Erotic Thriller

Date of Publication: 7-05-2017

ASIN:  9781521565940

Number of pages: 241
Word Count: 81,290

Cover Artist: Nollen Bradley

Book Description:

Family secrets are hard to hide, sometimes they claw their way out.

The werewolf, most believe to be folklore or legend. For centuries, the existence of werewolves were kept secret and guarded by a warrior class of lycan descended from a fierce ancient line known as the Guardians. These Guardians, sworn to uphold the peace between the wolf and humans. But, some werewolves not satisfied with living in secrecy start lashing out, hunting and killing all with the ancient gene to push humanity into extinction.

Now, only a few descendants are left with the cursed bloodline, some don’t even know they have it…   

Amazon Print     Amazon Kindle       Smashwords       24 Symbols     BN


4 Howling Stars Review

A nice twist on the werewolf lore with these special Guardians. Mark has no knowledge of his ancestry till he meets a local woman named Page. Things get complicated fast as Mark gets drawn deeper into the thick of it. I love how he hears a rock song playing in his head that seems to fit the situation he is in at any given time. The love scenes are just the right touch of hot and sexy for paranormal romance fans. 

Descriptive when it comes to explaining the transformation from human to wolf, so it gives the reader a vivid picture of how it takes place. These werewolves are unpredictable, and the battle to survive in this world is great. This has one heck of an ending. I'm not sure if this is a standalone, but I believe it is. I would love to see more books with Guardians because I think it deserves a little more exploring. Here's hoping for more!     

Reviewed by Janet

Excerpt 4


"... Warmed by the fire but still soaked from the rain. I feel her fingernails gently scratch my back, starting from my right scapula, diagonally down to my doused jeans. The tingling pain released unknown desire. As her hands moved, placing them on my shoulders, she stepped closer to me. The moment her body touched mine, her feel was different than before. Warmer, delicate but commanding."

About the Author:

Nollen Bradley is a pen name for Bradley Noll an American author residing near Leavenworth Kansas. The married, father of two grown children is new to the published author scene even though he has been writing song lyrics, poems and short stories all of his life.

Brad grew up on a farm outside of Winchester Kansas learning the value of hard work. Following college, Brad spent twelve years as a Paramedic until his second back surgery ending his successful career where he received several letters of commendation.

Brad spent time farming in his off days feeling the everyday pressures of the weather, markets and juggling the debt that is associated with large business. Brad also spent several years as an amateur Rodeo Clown (Bullfighter) working several local rodeos in the IPRA circuit. All the while, continuing to write songs and preform at local venues. Following a music CD he produced named “Make Believe” with eleven of his original songs and while in the process of producing his second Album he realized his talent was more suited for writing then music.

Brad takes the experience from the sweat stinging his eyes from the heat on a hot July day in Kansas. The heartache from having to tell a parent or a child that their loved one has died and there was nothing he could do, to the struggles of trying to pursue a dream and watching it crumble in front of him.

Brad has developed a style that draws on real life experiences to provided exciting yet believable story lines that captivate readers. Writing unbelievable tales with the realism of the struggles from everyday life in the painful cookie cutter suburban age. 




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Sunday, September 10, 2017

Review: Demon Hunting With the Sexy Ex

Demon Hunting With a Sexy Ex
Demon Hunting Book 5
Publication Date September 19, 2017 by Lyrical Press
Reviewed by Janet
5 Demonic Horns!

Synopsis:

Cassandra Ferguson McKenna, aka the Witch of Devil River, has only one thing to say to her demon-hunting ex: We are never ever getting back together. Sure, Duncan Dalvhani may be the hottest thing this side of the Mason-Dixon line. He’s got a body to die for—which is hard to ignore when he skinny dips in her river every day—and swears he loves her. But as a demon hunter, Duncan is the sworn enemy of a demonoid sorceress like Cassandra. Give him another chance to break her heart? Witch, please. But when Cassandra is attacked by a werewolf, Duncan not only comes to her rescue, he helps her take on a band of magic-drunk moonshiners, fire-breathing demons, shifty shapeshifters, and a pet Sasquatch named Sugar. Welcome to Alabama. But when a portal opens up for even more hellaciousness, Cassandra has to admit that Duncan is slowly opening her heart—to a whole new world of unearthly delights... (Goodreads)


Review:

Usually with the first book in a series, it's too hard to follow along without feeling lost in a brand new world. Not with this book! Even though this is the fifth book in the series, and my first time picking up a book within it, I was able to enjoy it just as much as I would a stand-alone.

Lexis George did an excellent job at creating a story that was not only well written , but also really fun to read. The characters were well developed with very interesting personalities. 

For readers who haven't picked up any of the other books in this series, I say give it a try!

Friday, September 8, 2017

Review: The Censors Hand

The Censor's Hand by A. M. Steiner
Thrice-Crossed Swords Trilogy Book 1
Published May 18th 2017 by Ptolemy Publishing UK
Reviewed by Rose
4 Magical Stars

Synopsis:

“We do not dabble with magic; we capture it, structure it and sell it.”

So claim the powerful masters of the Honourable Company of Cunning. Operating from the forbidding island of the Convergence, their arcane works have reshaped society. Now a censor, a guardian of justice, has been murdered in their midst and a terrifying conspiracy will be revealed.

Miranda, one of the hundred adopted daughters of the Dowager Duchess, wants nothing more than to become a master of the cunning arts. Only a fool would doubt her genius, but never before has a woman been permitted to wield such power.

Jonathan faces ruin. The sails of his mill haven’t turned since the Company diverted the winds of Bromwich to their advantage. He’s always been a devout and law-abiding man. How far will he go to protect his family from destitution and the gangsters at his doorstep? (Goodreads)

If Daniel, his brother, passes the tests to become a censor, maybe he could protect them. He might even get the chance to make amends for what happened to their sister. But in the real world, justice is elusive, and the damage of the past can rarely be undone.
 

Review:

This is the first book in the Thrice Crosses Swords trilogy, and the first I have read from this author. The beginning is well laid out and really hooks you in. The story follows three main characters journey. 

The flow is smooth and well developed world building leading up to more to come. A solid fantasy for the adult reader. 

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Review: Before She Ignites

Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows
Fallen Isles Trilogy Book 1
Publication Date September 12, 2017 by Katherine Tegan Books
Reviewed by Rose
5 MAGICAL STARS!!

Synopsis:

Before

Mira Minkoba is the Hopebearer. Since the day she was born, she’s been told she’s special. Important. Perfect. She’s known across the Fallen Isles not just for her beauty, but for the Mira Treaty named after her, a peace agreement which united the seven islands against their enemies on the mainland.

But Mira has never felt as perfect as everyone says. She counts compulsively. She struggles with crippling anxiety. And she’s far too interested in dragons for a girl of her station.

After

Then Mira discovers an explosive secret that challenges everything she and the Treaty stand for. Betrayed by the very people she spent her life serving, Mira is sentenced to the Pit–the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles. There, a cruel guard would do anything to discover the secret she would die to protect.

No longer beholden to those who betrayed her, Mira must learn to survive on her own and unearth the dark truths about the Fallen Isles–and herself–before her very world begins to collapse. (Goodreads)


Review:

Oh wow. What did I just read? It was like Game Of Thrones (minus the adult theme) meets, Mortal Instruments, meets Divergent. The time going back and forth threw me a bit at first. I still would have preferred it be lumped in order, in the beginning to make the flow smoother. However, flow it did. The present was fast paced and nail biting. For those who did not finish this book, they missed out. Truly. There was a hint of romance, but no true romance in this one. The thing that got me is bam it ended. No warning, but at least there is some closure to a piece, but it did leave mannnny questions. A great first start, I hope there is many more to follow. Awesome read form a new to me author. 

Monday, September 4, 2017

Review: Blood Renegades

Blood Renegades by Rosemary A. Johns
Rebel Vampires Book 3
Published June 13, 2017 by Fantasy Rebel Limited
Reviewed by Rose
4 Fangs!

Synopsis:

Light – rebel, lover, anti-hero – will be burnt at the stake in fourteen days. When he’s accused of being a terrorist Renegade in paranormal London, his bewitching Blood Life Council interrogator offers a deal: one secret a night.

Facing both human and vampire enemies, secret alliances and betrayal, Light struggles with whether he’s a hero, or about to fall back into his true vampire nature. Soon, Light’s in a race against time to transform into the leader vital to save his family, home, and love. But will he be able to judge predator from prey?

Light must make the ultimate choice: safety and slavery in the shadows, or freedom and death in the light…

Blood Renegades is the thrilling third installment of the supernatural suspense series REBEL VAMPIRES written by award-winning author Rosemary A Johns. (Goodreads)


Review:

This is the third book in the series. I would recommend reading the first two books before reading this one. This third installment is by far my favorite of the series. It flowed a bit smoother, and I think by now the slang that's peppered throughout is not bothersome. I would have loved a glossary in all the books in the series. The British slang is just not something everyone will know, I think it would make for a more enjoyable read for readers from other countries. This format is in a journal format but with more dialogue. More dialogue to me is much better. It is just reads more smoothly to me. 

Friday, September 1, 2017

Review: Twice Bitten

Twice Bitten by Lauren Dane
Cascadia Wolves Book 6
Revamped August 1, 2017 by Carina Press
Reviewed by Jenn
4 Howls

Synopsis:
Previously published under a different title; newly refreshed by author  
A Cascadia Wolves second-chance romance from New York Timesand USA TODAY bestselling author Lauren Dane  
"You need to know this thing between us isn't over." 
Michelle Slattery is no stranger to human cruelty. She's a cop, after all, never mind a witch herself. But when her best friend disappears and all signs point to the same mages who have been killing witches across the country, she's in over her head. There's only one place to turn for the kind of tracking help she needs… 
The werewolves. 
Josh Neelan didn't expect to ever see a witch at Pacific Pack headquarters. She's no ordinary witch in need, either—Michelle was his first love. The one he left behind when he turned a decade ago. That their attraction flares instantly after all this time can mean only one impossible thing: she's his mate. 
As danger looms and the case intensifies, Josh's need to follow the fates and claim Michelle as his mate grows…his man battling his wolf to keep them safe. And Michelle must decide just how far she'll go to find her forever. 
This book is approximately 64,000 words  
Read the entire Cascadia Wolves series by Lauren Dane! Available now from Carina Press.  
One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise : all the romance you're looking for with an HEA/HFN. It's a promise! (Goodreads)

Review:
I enjoyed this book. I am a sucker for shifters. And a witch that can handle her own, love it!
Even though this is part of a series and there is a higher story arc, this book was a complete story. It's done as a serial should be, each part being whole while still blending in to the rest. You still want more of the big picture, but the little picture is enough to tide you over.
I came into this series on this book. I am pretty sure I have just kissed getting a decent night's sleep again until I am done with the rest, before and after, this offering.


Interview With The Villain & Review: Torment





Torment
The Damned Series
Book Four
By LM Pruitt

Release Date August 8, 2017

Genre: PNR

Book Description:

Enemies are so stimulating.--Katherine Hepburn

If you can look past the part where they're trying to kill you.

The Damned want my head on a platter. The Winged have similar plans.

As for Morning Star and the Power... well, only They know.

One false step... and everything is lost.

CONTAINS SCENES OF GRAPHIC LANGUAGE AND SEXUAL ACTIVITY. READER DISCRETION IS ADVISED.

Amazon


Interview with a Villain

(I’ll admit, when I was given this particular interview topic, I was stumped—mostly because the true villain for the Damned series has yet to be revealed. So instead, I decided to sit down a fan favorite who may or may not have villainous intent—Lilith, the current reigning leader of the succubae.)

--So, I think we’d all like to know—why make the jump from being Adam’s first wife to being, for all intents and purposes, a demon?

I’ll be honest, I’m surprised anyone in this day and age even remembers I was married to Adam before Eve—who was, I’m not ashamed to say, a much better wife than me, even taking in to account the whole eating the fruit from the Tree of Knowledge thing. I’m not surprised by the fact people just assume I went straight for the so-called dark side. It’s never really a fall from grace—it’s more a gradual slide and tumble down the hill.

--So what caused your slide down the hill?
A man, of course (light laughter). The man, at least for me. And not a man so much as one of the Watchers, although they weren’t called that in the beginning. In the beginning, he was just Samael. And then, when the other Watchers Fell and Heaven was closed, he became the Angel of Death—fitting, since it was the career change which killed our marriage.

--And it was after this… career change that you had a change of your own?

People do desperate and stupid things when they’ve had their heart broken. I don’t apologize for any of the things I did or the choices I made. I rebuilt myself and then I gave other women the chance to do the same.

--Now, I understand in theory what a succubae is and what they do but I’d like to hear from the original succubus on those topics.

We tempt people—mostly men, although some of the girls specialize in women and some are indiscriminate—with the sex of their wildest dreams and then harvest their energy. We rarely kill anyone, simply because it’s messy and time-consuming and causes so many complications with the other side. The energy is pooled, some of it being sent to Morning Star and the rest being redistributed back to the girls. It’s a nice, tidy little system.

--But not everybody is happy with the system.

If I spent my time trying to make everybody happy I would never get anything else done.

--Which isn’t really an answer to the question.

Well, you didn’t really ask a question, did you? (long pause) The situation is being handled. Not as quickly and efficiently as I would prefer but it’s being handled. I fully believe it will be resolved in the next few months.

--My sources tell me you’re looking at abdicating your position to one of the leaders of the so-called rebellion, Julie Watson, who also happens to be one of your newest girls. Why would you willing step down from the position you created after all this time?


What can I say? We all make sacrifices for love.


4 DEMONIC STAR REVIEW:

Starting a series in the middle is always a risk. It must be hard for authors to balance continuing the story for devoted fans while also creating a book that could attack new readers. I think the author of this book did a good job of both. This is book four of the Damned series. I will admit, there were times when I was a little confused as to what was going one, but Pruitt did a good job of filling in the gaps of the story line. I like the fast speed of the plot kept me entertained and I pretty much ignored everyone until I made it to the end. I just wanted to see what would happen next. I like the idea behind this story and I do not know of another story that creates demon characters as anti-heroes. I believe, if I had started this book from the beginning I would have a closer connection to the characters and the premise of the story. 

Reviewed by Terri


Excerpt:

“You’ll catch cold if you stay out here much longer.”
I didn’t turn around, continuing to study the skyline. “I’m fine.”
“It’s three in the morning. You should be asleep.” He didn’t sound angry about the fact I wasn’t or the fact I was standing outside in late September in sleep pants and a thin cotton tank. If anything, his scolding sounded as if it was for form and nothing else. “It’s been a long day for all of us.”
“Yes.” Now I did turn around, studying Barry with the same intensity I’d shown the various buildings of Prague. “Why are you mad at me?”
“I’m not mad.” He pulled a cigar from the pocket of his sleep pants but didn’t light it, staring at the tip for a moment before sliding it back in his pocket. “I’m tired, Julie. As I said, it’s been a long day. The next few days—weeks, rather—promise to be equally long. We all need to sleep, to keep our strength up for what lies ahead.”
“You haven’t touched me since we got back.” Since he stood in front of my sister and ripped her heart out and then walked away without a backward glance. “You’ve barely said anything all night long.”
“As I said, I’m tired.” He closed his eyes and pinched the bridge of his nose, letting out a long sigh. “There’s been quite a bit of upheaval in the last thirty-six hours or so. Quite a bit. Forgive me if I’m not my usual charming self. You have more than enough people here to pay you attention if you’re feeling uncared for.”
“That’s not what I meant.” I turned back to the city view, widening my eyes and blinking rapidly in an effort to keep the tears at bay. I didn’t have a problem with using tears as a weapon when they were called for but I wouldn’t use them with him, ever. “You’re right. It’s late. Go to sleep. I’m fine.”
“We both know I’m not going to sleep until you do.” I heard the sound of metal scraping over concrete and glanced over my shoulder to find he’d pulled one of the patio chairs free of the table. Sitting down and stretching out his legs, he said, “As long as you’re here, I’m here.”
“Barry—.”
“Arguing will only frustrate us both, Julie Elizabeth, and we’ve had enough frustration for the day.” He slid further down in the seat, almost slouching, and crossed his arms. “As long as you’re here, I’m here.”
“But do you want to be here?” The question tumbled out before I even realized it was in my mind and I bit my tongue, already regretting it. “Never mind. You don’t have to answer that.”
“Come here.” When I didn’t move, he uncrossed his arms and held out one hand. “Please.”
Crossing the balcony, I took his hand, curling up in his lap and resting my head on his shoulder. We sat in silence for a few minutes before he cleared his throat. “I don’t know any other way to say it. I can simply say as long as you’re here, I’m here. When you want to leave, we’ll leave.”
“And where would we go?” Joanne’s face in the instant after Barry verbally sucker punched her, Asmodeus’s face the second after I shot him, flashed through my mind and I hunched my shoulders as if the memory carried a physical blow. “There’s no place left. We burned all those bridges today.”
“The thing about bridges is they can always be rebuilt and when they are, they’re stronger than before they burned.” He brushed my hair away from my face, stroking one hand down my back and pulling me tighter against him. “But since you don’t want to leave, the discussion is moot.”
“We’re doing the right thing.”
“The right thing done the wrong way is no longer the right thing.”
“If there was a way to do this differently, we would have taken it.” We’d tried to take it. We’d tried to meet the others halfway. Nobody—Lilith, Asmodeus, the Power, Morning Star—wanted to bend.
So we would have to break them.
“After the raids begin today, there is no turning back. You and your supporters will be branded traitors. There will be bounties on your heads.” He pressed his lips to my hair, breathing deep. “On all our heads. You’ve never lived through a war.”
It wasn’t a question but I answered anyway. “No, I haven’t.”
“I’ve been through more than my fair share, even considering my age. When it’s impossible to die from manmade weapons, you tend to fight in wars simply to alleviate the boredom.” He turned, pressing his face in to my hair. “And they’re nothing compared to supernatural wars. So far you’ve only seen the pretty side of Hell. There are things which will be unleashed which should never exist out of nightmares.”
“On us or by us?”
“Both.” His hand shook as he stroked my back and I wasn’t sure if he was trying to comfort me or himself. “Some things can’t be unseen or unfelt. You’ll carry it with you until the day you die.”
“Are you trying to scare me?”
“I’m trying to warn you. Up until now, everything about this war has been theoretical. Until today, no true shots were fired.” He drew back, his face unnaturally somber, even for him. “I know you did what you had to do and I don’t fault you for that decision.”
“But I officially started the war.” I nodded. “I know. I’ll live with it.”
“Things will get worse.” He pressed a kiss to my forehead. “They always do.”
“And then they get better.” I had to believe that. If I didn’t, then there was a good chance I was wrecking and ruining lives for no reason at all. I pressed my lips to his, lightly, for comfort more than anything else. “Things will be better. We’re going to make them better.”
We didn’t have any other choice.


About the Author:

L.M. Pruitt has been reading and writing for as long as she can remember. A native of Florida with a love of New Orleans, she has the uncanny ability to find humor in most things and would probably kill a plastic plant. She knows this because she's killed bamboo. Twice.  She is the author of the Winged series, the Plaisir Coupable series, Jude Magdalyn series, the Moon Rising series, and Taken: A Frankie Post Novel.






From My Author Page...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GothicMoms Updates